1. Want to see less ads, private areas and be able to post? Register Today to receive all these benefits and more!
Dismiss Notice

Want to see less ads, post content and the ability to buy & sell Oakleys?

Register Today or Login

1. patrol 32

patrol 32 Oakley Beginner

hello all I work as a patrol officer in the desert of Southern California. I drive a vehicle for about 8-9 hours a day...I'm also in and out constantly. It is always extremely sunny here, and the heat can go up to 120. I have always used black iridium polarized for my tint (I wear rx sunglasses) but I see that Oakley is incorporating prizm in their rx now. My question is based on my activities posted above, what tint would be the best? Black iridium polarized, or prizm daily or road? Thanks

Shade Station Oakley Sunglasses

Register to Not see this ad
  2. thisguy

thisguy Oakley Expert

I think vr28bip would make a nice lens tint for you.

patrol 32 likes this.
  3. Toy4x

Toy4x Oakley Enthusiast

I live in the High Desert in So Cal. My go to lens is Titanium.

Light transmissions:
    BIP - 9% neutral
    Titanium - 12% contrast
    Daily Prizm Polar - 14% contrast
    VR28 BIP - 14% contrast
    OO Red I Polar - 18% contrast
    Road Prizm - 20% contrast

My eyes are very sensitive. I drive from the High Desert to Los Angeles 5 days a week, 75 miles one way. I fell In love with the titanium lens. The contrast lens is great, it is a little darker than dpp, but lighter than BIP.

I have tried road prizm, but it doesn't have the polar required up here in the desert. And during bright light, it doesn't work for me.

DPP is a beautiful lens, no doubt. My dad has these, but when I tried them out, I really like the ti more.

I have OO red iridium polar as well. They are outstanding in not as bright days. Anytime besides dead of summer. Problem with the desert, you get that reflection off the sand/dirt. I would switch from OO RIP and Ti no problems. Depending on season.