• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Gen I M-Frame Experts Enter Here Please

GRFMotorsports

is an Oakley whore
Premium Member
Nixa, Mo
Ok, so I picked up this pair here..... Now Im no expert on M-frames but I am trying to learn.

First question, what is it? I came up with a M-frame Heater, crystal black frame with a blue iridium lens. I dont however see that combo listed at OR. Am I correct? Is it a legit pair? I dont think the early models had OAKLEY across the lens correct? Does the cut look right? Thanks!

DSC07955.jpg

DSC07956.jpg

DSC07957.jpg

DSC07958.jpg

It looks good. Frame/lens combinations aren't well documented, and with the M Frame everything was available as replacements except the frame itself. Only way to tell is come across a "Mumbo With Hammers" box that has a blue iridium heater sticker. I'm not sure if the first gen boxes had frame color as part of the same tag or not, I can't recall at the moment.

The lens looks like it has a bit more green than the first gen blue iridium pairs that I have. But the shield lenses tend to show more of the spectrum and vary a lot more I've noticed. Mine all have a subtle amber tint that fades to grey towards the edges as well.

About the writing on the lens - it's a crapshoot. I've seen it in bold white, I've seen it written in big text, I have some without anything.

Not too sure I like crystal black with blue iridium, but it looks like its in great condition.

I thought you might be the first to respond if you were on. The condition is so good it makes you second guess if it is actually real. The lens in person is almost all blue with purple at the sides, but w/o having another in hand to compare it to? The crystal blue frame would be the way to go with this but I'll take it.

I've got blue Heater, Hybrid1, and Sweep. I'll take some pics when I get time this weekend.