• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

OxiClean And Titanium: Oakley Crush And Penny

d4r7hur

Oakley Beginner
Hi all ya'all. I'm Arturo and I'm a scientist.

Here, I'll describe 2 experiments with Oxiclean in an attempt to darken metal in Oakleys. Why? 1. I read somewhere that Oxiclean can darken titanium and make it more moody. I'm curious if it'll actually work. 2. I've always wanted titanium colored Pennies (proper dark, metallic carbon instead of X-metal or the shiny titanium). 3. I am bored.

The first experiment is mixing Oxiclean with boiling water and bathing an Oakley Crush watch that was sold to me as being made out of Titanium. Second is a study of the effects of Oxiclean in a Titanium Penny.

uc?export=view&id=0BzaAdTn-IEzvNncyX2FaQUVMakU

Materials and Methods:

I put in a plastic container equal parts of Oxiclean and boiling water. I placed the Oxiclean in the container first, making sure that there's enough Oxiclean to physically cover all the metal parts. Then I added an equal measure of boiling water. It's important to mix it with water little by little, because as they start mixing, the mixture starts bubbling and the bubbles may rise above the limit of the container. As the water was mixed little by little with the Oxiclean and started bubbling, I stirred the mixture until it became a homogeneous, viscous fluid. Each item was bathed separately. The bathing times for both items were 1hour and 30 minutes each. The watch was bathed as is. The Pennies were stripped of all the accessible rubbers.

uc?export=view&id=0BzaAdTn-IEzvUmJNamxycVc4N1E

Results