• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Planning On Making First Purchase - Advice And Thoughts Welcomed

chris009

Oakley Beginner
Hi,

I'm new to this forum and I guess I'm new to this world of sunglasses. I've used sunglasses for most of my life, but I always used the cheapies. Typically the dollar store type of sunglasses or if I was looking to splurge, I might get a $20 pair. I never understood why anyone would pay hundreds to much much more for sunglasses. Out of my own curiosity, I started looking into it and tried on a friends expensive pair and I was impressed. The biggest thing that I noticed was how sharp my vision was with them on.

Yesterday, I went into a Sunglass Hut for the first time to look at some of the Oakley's they had there (since I never thought highly of expensive sunglasses before, I just never seen the point in ever going in one.

Anyway, I saw some glasses I really like. The main one that caught my eyes was the Polarized Fast Jacket XL. I liked how you could interchange the lenses easily to suit different conditions. It had the dark lenses and the persimmon ones for lower light conditions. The idea of getting specific lenses for nighttime driving popped into my head at the time (I'm not sure if persimmon is good enough for such an activity).

I'm also planning on getting another pair that sort of has that aviator style look, like the crosshairs 2.0 or something like that, but I'll see what I like when I have some around me to try on.

I'm actually sad that it took me this long to find the world of better sunglasses and wasted so much on the cheapies. If you have advice for a first time buyer or thoughts on the subject please share.