• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Question About Recoating Lenses.

kodiak71

Oakley Beginner
Please correct me if this is in the wrong forum.

I made a big time boo boo! I used a cleaning solution with a chemical that my Oakly Off Line 2.0 non prescription slightly tinted lenses did not like. Long story short the coating started to "peel" away from the lense (at least that's what the optician said it looked like). They replaced the lenses (non Oakley) which I was pissed enough about but I understand that these are OOP with a 50% tint which is much more tinted than the original lenses were. I work in a hospital which has a ton of flourescant (sp?) lighting which my blue eyes don't like and if I wear these with the new tint they are going to think I'm on drugs because the tint makes them look more like sunglasses.

The question is: Does anyone know if Oakley would be able to recoat my old lenses even though they are out of production?

I know the first response will probably be "call them and ask" but you guys seem very knowledgeable about these things.

Thanks,

Paul

no, once lenses peel theyre gone. you wnt get the clarity back. what you can do is find a larger lens with the right tint that you want, and get it cut to size. thats the best option.

So I talked with the original optical store I bought them from and they said without seeing them they wouldn't be able to tell me. However they said they may be able to send them (frames and lenses) back to Oakley and they may be able to cut lenses to fit. Is this what you're talking about?

So I talked with the original optical store I bought them from and they said without seeing them they wouldn't be able to tell me. However they said they may be able to send them (frames and lenses) back to Oakley and they may be able to cut lenses to fit. Is this what you're talking about?