1. Want to see less ads, private areas and be able to post? Register Today to receive all these benefits and more!
Dismiss Notice

Want to see less ads, post content and the ability to buy & sell Oakleys?

Register Today or Login

1. David_Oakley

David_Oakley Oakley Enthusiast

I just recently purchased a Romeo 1 and I am very new to the X-metal arena. I noticed that the Romeo has 4 gaskets (2 upper and 2 lower) unlike the rest of the X-metal line.

My question is this: I noticed the lower gaskets are held in by what looks like a "flat" screw. In other words there is no way to use the special screw driver to remove them. The uppers have the conventional screws to remove.

So in the event of swapping out Romeo 1 lenses, I'm assuming I just need to remove the upper screws only.

However, how would I replace the lower gaskets? (does the nose piece just "slide" off after the top screws are removed?

Sorry but i've never done this. Any insight on this would be appreciated.

Chris A Hardaway likes this.
    Shade Station Oakley Sunglasses

Register to Not see this ad
  2. washi me sensie

washi me sensie The Oakley Rōnin

yo bro! just remove the top screws... the lower ones are not screws! its quite easy! just be careful not losing any gaskets though! goodluck!

3. David_Oakley

Ok, so the nose piece does come off to get to the lower gaskets if I need to replace them correct?

4. washi me sensie

washi me sensie The Oakley Rōnin

yep... the whole nose piece will come off....

5. discostu

discostu Oakley Expert Premium Member

Bottom section just has 'pegs' if that makes sense. The lower and upper gaskets are prone to tearing so be careful when removing as has been mentioned. If they are worn out you may want to get a fresh set.

6. David_Oakley

for the new gaskets, I should just order from linegear correct?

7. discostu

discostu Oakley Expert Premium Member

Yes, unless you can acquire oem from eBay or the forum possibly.

8. Rustpot