• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Why No Red Iridium?

da_nige

Oakley Enthusiast
Ok this has been bugging me for a while and I wasn't going to waste peoples time by asking but its now really bugging me.

Why have Oakley never produced a true red iridium?

Obviously there is +Red and OO Red but both of these have other colours that show too like blue or purple. I mean something that is just red the same way that Ice is just blue or Emerald is just green. No matter what direction you look at Ice it still looks blue but with OO Red and +Red if you tilt them you see other colours appear.

Does that make sense?

Thanks

Neil

Well, I am quite new to this industry but I know that there are some lenses called Ruby Iridium, mostly used on Juliet X-Metal range. They seem pretty red to me, even if they're not red per se.

Again Ruby is like the other 2 I mentioned. It can sometimes look more like Fire and even the stronger Ruby shows some yellow.

I'm not complaining, just curious

Cheers

Neil

Well, I am quite new to this industry but I know that there are some lenses called Ruby Iridium, mostly used on Juliet X-Metal range. They seem pretty red to me, even if they're not red per se.

They're very hit or miss going from a deep purple red to a yellow orange between sets and even in the same set.

Again Ruby is like the other 2 I mentioned. It can sometimes look more like Fire and even the stronger Ruby shows some yellow.

I'm not complaining, just curious

Cheers

Neil
I've wondered too. You'd think with all the stuff they've done and all the tech they have, they'd be able to consistently make a red lens.