• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Bending arms.....best way?

Seed65

Oakley Beginner
Hello,

I have a 2 pairs of Fives 2.0, one of which I bought recently. I love my original Fives 2.0 since they fit my face so well. I recall that my optometrist bent the arms a bit to conform to my head and to hold them in place better. I would like to bend my "new"used pair in the same way. I seem to recall that heat may have been applied to the arms to bend them. Any ideas?? Recommendations on bending the arms? Attached is a pic that shows the new and old Fives.

Thanks!!
image.jpg

I have no first hand experience with this but I can tell you I've seen people suggest a lot of things, the most common being slowing heating them up with a blow dryer/heat gun and very hot water (not boiling).

It's probably worth noting that the O-matter formulation may have changed somewhat since your first pair was altered, so what worked back then may not work now.

I was always told that you need to be really careful with Omatter as if heated the material will melt. It isn't like acetate where you can heat it up and adjust the fit.

I guess if you used low heat than you'd warp the material into shape. Not sure what it does to the integrity of the material though. I'm sure others with more experience will chime in.

It may be my eyes,as I have had a drink but the base curve looks less on one..maybe ones an Asian fit?

Good day....

I decided to use the hot water method to bend the Fives 2.0 arms since it offered me a bit more control of the heat than the hair dryer method. The original bend in the arms seemed too loose especially at the back of the arms to my head.