• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Design Team/Luxottica

dayummJOHN

Banned
This is beginning to get very upsetting...
I've been collecting oakleys for about 10 years now...
The dedication and time you could see go into the frames and design back in the days...
was stunning. You can just tell how much effort and time was put into a single frame design.
The lines and curves of the gascan... are just... well.. perfect. The same for the eyepatch 1 i think...
They just have these rugged..distinct lines...molded into the stem... not just some clunk of flat plastic running down your head.
They're just...pieces of art really.
The same with the metals line. Not just that... but the naming of the frames all worked together to some extent...
"Gascan" "Oil-Rig" "Oil-Drum" etc..

What the hell is going on now? "Batwolf" "Garage Rock" BIG F*ckng TACO???
Are you kidding me? And the effort put into these frames... almost none at this point.
They're all mediocre frames you can easily find anywhere else. They're just slapping the O on anything now.
The LE's are not quite what they were either...

I think someone has to have the time and dedication to lead the O to where it was back in the day...
Luxottica quite frankly isn't cutting it. Oakley...is the Apple of Sunglasses.
When Steve was running the operation... everything had the owners vision... he stuck his hands in everything...
and apple products just have this touch to them... you can see and feel how much time and effort was put into the design
when you use one... Now that he's gone... even with the iPhone 5,new ipods, Retina MacBook Pro... it's quite a bit different... Not quite as much thought into the "new" product as before.
I feel this is the same issue Oakleys been having...
And i don't think much is going to get better unless they have ONE person driving the whole train