• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Fishing Specific Models + Quick Intro

FlyFishing

Oakley Beginner
Hey everyone. I suppose I'll double this post with a quick intro.

New to forums here. Have never owned a pair of Oakley's.

For 5 1/2 months out of the year I spend my summers in Alaska where I work as a remote country fly fishing guide. At home in the Buffalo, NY area during the fall/ winter months I work for a friend of mine who owns a construction company building houses and work part time on the weekends guiding Lake Erie/Ontario streams for Steelhead.

Plainly put I spend on average a minimum of 200+ days on the water guiding fishing trips on rivers.

I've tried Orvis glasses, Maui Jim glasses and Costa Del Mar's. I gave up the 20$ fishing glasses back in my teens. Some of the aforementioned shades have done me very well and others have plain been wastes of cash that I've given away to clients.

For some reason I've never considered Oakley's. So as I sit here counting down the next 20 tays until I head back out to the great north I decided to check out my local Oakley store.

The guy that attended to me was very knowledgable and extremely patient when it came do dealing with me. I tried every polarized lens they had in stock in as many frames as I could. I had the guy going back and forth between taking me outside with different combo's to test them in the out of door lighting rather than in store.

As far as frames go I've decided on the Bottle Rocket's. They felt absolutely perfect on my face. As far as lens's go I've settled on Polarized Bronze and VR28 Black Iridium Polarized.