• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Having trouble adjusting to prescription sunglasses

Mgio

Oakley Beginner
I’ve been wearing Oakley sunglasses for almost 2 decades now. As I’ve gotten older I’ve started wearing progressive eyeglasses mostly just for reading. I have a relatively mild prescription, sphere 1.25 add 1.25 and I only really need my glasses for close up.

Anyways, I just bought prescription (progressive) carbon blade sunglasses mostly for reading at the beach. They are the same prescription as my eyeglasses. I’ve been wearing them for a few days now and I’m having so much trouble adjusting. I can’t really pinpoint what is wrong but everything is so magnified and distorted. I’ve gone back to the optometrist and they said the glasses are correct and it’s likely because they are curved unlike eyeglasses which are flat. They said I’ll probably get used to them but it’s not getting better. I love the way they look and they are good for reading but pretty much unusable otherwise (I can’t drive or ride a bike in them).

Anyone else have this issue?

Yes, with progressives you need really flat lenses, the more curve the more it distorts, there’s nothing anybody can do to fix that, if I was you I would take them back to your optometrist and choose different glasses that have a more flat lens

Thanks for the advice. I might have the option to switch from a progressive to a single focal lens but I’m worried that it won’t be any better due to the curve of the glasses. Or maybe a milder prescription as the new sunglasses seem to be overkill for reading.

Thanks for the advice. I might have the option to switch from a progressive to a single focal lens but I’m worried that it won’t be any better due to the curve of the glasses. Or maybe a milder prescription as the new sunglasses seem to be overkill for reading.