• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Help! M-Frame Vs M-Frame 2.0 Lenses Difference?

Isaac

Oakley Beginner
Hey guys, glad I stumbled into this forum!

Does anyone know if there is any difference between the normal M-Frame lenses and the 2.0 ones (i.e. the Military Issued ones)?

I know the middle top is different, there is a hole to clip the 2.0 version.

What I want to know is, is there any difference in curvature between the 2 lenses?
Also is the nose bridge shape exactly the same?

I ask because I want to get these prescription inserts for my M-Frame: http://www.esseyepro.com/U-Rx-Insert_191_detail.html

T
hey say they fit the M-Frame 2.0 but do not mention the M-Frame.

I really want to get some inserts and have found no other options. I cannot Rx the glasses directly because my degree is too high.

All help is appreciated. Thanks!

The short answer: Maybe

The long answer:
From the Spec sheet they give, the U-Rx uses a replacement nose piece to interface with the Oakley glasses.
http://www.esseyepro.com/uploads/files/ESS_U-Rx_Retail_TDS.pdf
So it really depends on how they're interfacing with the lens.

Ballistic M Frame lenses have additional molded clips to hold the nose piece in place, but the newest generation nose pieces (that came with my 3.0 frame) don't use the clips and have a stiffer rubber that's a similar friction fit to retail lenses.

ESS is owned by Oakley (or were before Oakley was then bought out), so I suspect there's a bit of cross-function built in for that reason. You can always call their customer service department and see if anyone there knows or can answer that specific question about the nose piece. It may be that since ESS is more focused on eye protection solely they decided to market the carrier through them.