• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Hydrophobic Coating Pen - Does it adversely affect lenses/frame long term?

cacatman

No one knows 'cacat' like cacatman!!
Staff member
Premium Member
Lifetime Member
Does using the hydrophobic coating pen affect frames at all? I would assume that it would be particularly bad on the Magnesium frames which seem to be susceptible to sweat/constant water exposure.

Is there any risk to lenses at all, long term? ie. change in colour at junction of the frames (which don't have solution applied).

Why shouldn't it be used on factory hydrophobic lenses (e.g. goggles)? I assume it's because it would "override" the (better) factory hydrophobic coating.

I've been using it for a few years now and never noticed any detrimental effects on the lenses.
I do make sure the lenses are removed from the frame when making applications, so I don't suppose there's much transference from lens to frame...

I'm now convinced that it is not good for the old school Oakley's. Ive coated a Iridium Red 0.4 Gen 2 and wiped it down with Hydrophobic. I saw no issues with the lenses. I then put them in their bag and box and put them away. I just pulled them out and the coating on the lenses was peeling. This has happened twice now on older Oakley's. Why? No idea, thats above my pay grade. Anyone else having new issues?

I'm now convinced that it is not good for the old school Oakley's. Ive coated a Iridium Red 0.4 Gen 2 and wiped it down with Hydrophobic. I saw no issues with the lenses. I then put them in their bag and box and put them away. I just pulled them out and the coating on the lenses was peeling. This has happened twice now on older Oakley's. Why? No idea, thats above my pay grade. Anyone else having new issues?
This site, and the "other one" are both loaded with peeling lense/bagged/boxed stories.