• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Is this how a brand new Radar EV Path Clear To Black Iridium Photochromic Lenses, Steel Frame suppose to look, not completely clear lens & logo faded?

OkeyDokeyOakley

Oakley Beginner
Hey everyone! I'm new to the brand, so I don't know what to exactly expect, but I just got my first Oakley pair and I'm quite disappointed! (purchased brand new from Oakley's official legit online store)

I purchased the Radar EV Path Clear To Black Iridium Photochromic Lenses, Steel Frame. (link insert here: Oakley Radar® EV Path® Clear to Black Iridium Photochromic Lenses, Steel Frame Sunglasses | Oakley® US)
Right after unboxing I tried the glasses on indoors, (curtains closed to block floodlight and with only bedroom light on), right away I noticed that the lens had a slight dark tint as opposed to being COMPLETELY 100% clear or transparent. I was expecting the base lens to be completely 100% clear when worn INDOORS (no floodlight whatsoever) and that the lens would ONLY darken if worn outside in direct sunlight. I purchased the item because in the photos listed on the site, the base lens appears to be completely clear.

However this is misleading, unless I was given the incorrect lens.

Me being new to the brand, is this how the lens are suppose to be for the Radar EV Path Clear To Black Iridium Photochromic Lenses, Steel Frame?

And another question, why does the logo etched on the lens look faded? Is the logo supposed to look like this?

* (The 3rd photo that I attached is a flash photo I took of the glasses completely in the dark covered under a blanket)

01.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

04.jpg

05.jpg

Last edited:
That lens doesn't go fully clear. Only 31% light blockage at its "clearest" according to Oakley (see screenshot below) . As far as the "faded" etching, some of mine look similar to that.