• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!
How are the Blue Hawaii and Maui Green lenses? I want a pair of Maui Jims, but hate the gradient lenses some models have.

Maui blue lenses are very good. They almost have a dark grey/bronze base color. I have no experience with the green lens.

Slight update - I went with the Maui Jims.

Having worn them both over the weekend, the Maui Jim Super Thin Glass really shone through compared to the Prizm Black on the Holbrooks.

Had to compromise a little on long term comfort (metal frames vs plastic), but it's not a major issue.

As for the Blue Hawaii, it's based on the Neutral Grey lens, but as it has the Blue mirror finish, it reflects blue light and makes everything look a little more bronze.

MJ say it's for bright sunshine (like the Neutral Grey), but it looks to be a touch brighter, but not as bright as the HCL Bronze.

I've seen people refer to the Neutral Grey as 10% VLT, the HCL Bronze at 15% VLT and I reckon the Blue Hawaii is about 12/13% VLT.

It's the next lens on my list to get, and I think it'll probably be my favourite.

Maui blue lenses are very good. They almost have a dark grey/bronze base color. I have no experience with the green lens.
Thanks! The gradient lenses I had in a previous pair of Maui Jims I had and that ruined them for me.

Slight update - I went with the Maui Jims.

Having worn them both over the weekend, the Maui Jim Super Thin Glass really shone through compared to the Prizm Black on the Holbrooks.

Had to compromise a little on long term comfort (metal frames vs plastic), but it's not a major issue.

As for the Blue Hawaii, it's based on the Neutral Grey lens, but as it has the Blue mirror finish, it reflects blue light and makes everything look a little more bronze.