• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Polarized Lenses-Really Worth It?

rjn915

Oakley Beginner
I'm new to the whole Oakley/Sunglasses thing in general. I am buying my first pair of Oakleys, The Flak Jacket XLJ. The polarized versions are about $50 more, are they worth it? I do not fish, which i heard is a big activity in which polarized lenses help. I will only wear these for daily uses; walking around, driving, beach etc. Not for sports, not for anything other than a general use. Do you guys think i should buy the polarized lenses? Also if i bought them without the polarized lenses and later realize i want the polarized lenses, can i just buy polarized lenses for the flak jackets and throw them in?

You can add a set of polarized lenses later. If you live where there is no snow, do not go on the water (fishing, boating, etc), and have lived fine without the use of sunglasses on sunny days then you likely don't need the polarized lenses.

The polarizing filter helps cuts glare reflecting off of horizontal surfaces, specifically water, but that also includes snow, cars, wet roads, etc.

I wear them because when I'm driving on a sunny day the spots of glare on cars will feel like needles in my eyes. Wearing a normal pair with iridium coating helps, but it's a pleasure for me to wear a polarized set of glasses to help reduce glare and eye fatigue.

I live in Massachusetts, so we do get snow. I never really go fishing or boating or any of that and i have lived fine without sunglasses/cheap sunglasses. While driving i have never been too bothered by the sun/glares of cars. Thanks for the info, i will buy them without the polarized lenses and if needed i will but a polarized set of lenses. Thanks!