• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

price of custom vs OEM

mercat

I should Work at Oakley
Auckland
I'm not sure if it has been discussed before, but does customizing a frame make a price of a pair higher than the original colorway? given both are in good/excellent condition..
i've seen some that are sold here that were customized but priced more than OEM..
should value go up/down once a frame is touched?
my thought is OEM should be the standard with pricing but value to each person can be subjective and i'm no expert with customizing so it could add more value to an OEM pair..
your thoughts?

Different custom work commands different money...and some finishes are quite trendy.

For instance, copper plating is generally higher than say a regular XM refinish. And polished goes up and down somewhat depending if it is “in style” at the time...rust refinish is trendy as well. It’s honestly a bit of a crap shoot.

I'm not sure if it has been discussed before, but does customizing a frame make a price of a pair higher than the original colorway? given both are in good/excellent condition..
i've seen some that are sold here that were customized but priced more than OEM..
should value go up/down once a frame is touched?
my thought is OEM should be the standard with pricing but value to each person can be subjective and i'm no expert with customizing so it could add more value to an OEM pair..
your thoughts?