• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Road Prism v OO Red Iridium Polarized

new2O

Oakley Beginner
Hi, apologies in advance as I'm a newbie and have not much clue with all the technical specifics on lens tints/types. Also before posting I have real a lot of helpful threads on here and elsewhere but not specifically answering my query.

So my question is - I'm in to road biking (not competitive but few times a week for fitness) and had previously used the OO red iridum polarized lens in my fast jackets which worked v well indeed. So when I decided I fancied Radarlock Path as found this frame to be even better for cycling IMO, I initially went down the +O red polarized route - ended up getting the 2014 Tour de France special edition which came with the +O lens. Then I spotted the Radarlock Road prisms which had just been released at a good price so bought those aswell - but now having both I now need to decide which to keep.

I'm sure most will say it'll be down to personal preference but was curious from a technical/scientific standpoint whether I should be swayed one way or other, esp given the Polarized lens is nearly double the cost of the road prizm lens (here in UK anyway). I also see the 2015 TDF model has the Prizm lens as standard not the +O polarized, so not sure if thats a decision by Oakley knowing they should supply the best lens they have specifically for road cycling, or that its because theres a better profit supplying a cheaper lens to the model selling at same price point.