• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Question...

greg

Oakley Expert
Philadelphia
So obviously I have a question for the forum... I am wondering how all you would handle the response.

So I am a college student and since the new semester just started I was looking up my professors linkedin profiles seeing where they have all worked. One company that my teacher worked at... which was a marketing company who deals with marketing brands and developing apps for businesses. On the website their was a typo the word manage was spelled "mange". God only knows how long that typo was there and how many people saw it. Even more so how many business firms saw it and chose not to do business with the marketing firm.

So I wrote an email explaining that they had a typo and where it was on the website. I got a 1 word response that said "thanks". I then checked their website and it was corrected.

So the question is, how would you respond if you were the marketing firm?

I feel a bit shafted by them in the sense... I took time out my day to point out a major flaw. a typo in the business world is major. I know plenty of firms who will not look at a resume after 1 typo. Many feel a resume should be perfect. It should be reviewed line by line. In the same manner a website as well. Its the face of the company.

I feel they could of done a couple things...

1. Said thank you for taking the time to point that out to us. and then inquired more about who I am, what I study, and see if they would want to connect with me on linkedin. After all they are a firm that provides a service... wouldn't they want to develop as many relationships as they can?

2. Ask for my contact info, maybe send me some pens or a coffee mug. most hr dept. have something like that which is basically free advertising.

3. ETC