• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

New to Oakley need some advice before buying first pair?

Andrew 55

Oakley Beginner
Hi guys I'm new to Oakley and I have some questions before buying my first glasses. I want them for daily city use and sometimes going to the beach/pool and hiking.

1. Polished Black or Matte Black frame? (I know this depends on each person's taste but I like both so some info on how they look irl will be helpful and also which one olds better).

2. Polarized or Non-Polarized? / Standard or Prizm lenses? (From what I've seen you can have all sorts of variations with these 4 types and I'm not sure what the differences are and which one would be the best also I would like the crystal to be black so that people can't see my eyes. Or what other color do you recommend).

That's pretty much it, btw I picked the HOLBROOK style. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Hi guys I'm new to Oakley and I have some questions before buying my first glasses. I want them for daily city use and sometimes going to the beach/pool and hiking.

1. Polished Black or Matte Black frame? (I know this depends on each person's taste but I like both so some info on how they look irl will be helpful and also which one olds better).

2. Polarized or Non-Polarized? / Standard or Prizm lenses? (From what I've seen you can have all sorts of variations with these 4 types and I'm not sure what the differences are and which one would be the best also I would like the crystal to be black so that people can't see my eyes. Or what other color do you recommend).

That's pretty much it, btw I picked the HOLBROOK style. Thanks in advance for all the help.
Stay away from anything made after 2007. Lux sucks!

There are no better brands.

Current Oakley is just fine and Holbrooks are great. Prizm lenses are incredible, just go with what looks best to you.