• Take 30 seconds to register your free account to access deals, post topics, and view exclusive content!

Register Today

Join the largest Oakley Forum on the web!

Penny - Conflicted; To Buy, Or Not To Buy?!

PWG

Oakley Enthusiast
I LOVE X-Metals! I've been wearing a Titanium Juliet for about 6 years as my daily wears, and also have XSs that I plan on converting to Rx lenses. Started thinking it would be nice to have more XMs since they're so awesome. I like the look of the Penny. I've got a deal on the table to get a Ti pair for $365. The guy says he got them in 2003, tried them on and never wore them.

For people who fit Julet's well, do the Penny's fit similarly? Mine fit great, with some slight room on the sides (i.e. I can fit my fingers thru), so thinking the Penny's may not be too small. My concern is maybe they're too old, and I would need to then think about getting spare parts and maintaining them. And maybe lenses that old will start delaminating once I start wearing and cleaning them, and I'll have to get those replaced. And maybe they're just not different enough from the Juliet to be worthwhile. OR, maybe I should make them into Rx instead of the XS.

As a sneaker lover, I have WAY too many shoes, so I'm trying to control myself by not over-collecting Ms. Maybe the real question is whether they're awesome and diff enough to Juliets to be worth having, and whether their age should be concerning, as I wouldn't want to have to spend money refurbishing them.

I'm sure the hardcore collectors among you think this is a pathetic question...heh! And of course no one else can really tell someone how to spend their money, or manage their priorities, but would like to hear people's thoughts about Penny's vs. Juliets in terms of uniqueness, and maintenance nonetheless. Thank you in advance for sharing your thoughts.